Zaznacz stronę

Fourteenth International Conference on Current Issues of Sustainable Development – Sustainable Energy Supply and Sustainable Product Innovation

Hosted by
the Opole University (Poland),
Hochschule Zittau/Goerlitz (Germany) and
IHI – TU Dresden (Zittau, Germany)
Selçuk University (Turkey),
Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (Germany)
in co-operation with The Polish Association of Environmental and Natural Resource Economists

Sustainability issues have become so common in many fields of socio-, political- and economic life, that it is often forgotten that it requires new approaches, and a change in rules guiding human activity, ways of thinking and governance structures. There exists the need to understand the interactions in institutional change between socio-economic systems, technology, product innovation and a transition path towards more sustainable production structures and energy supply.

In the context of the continuous increase in demand for energy, the challenges in climate change and socio-economic development, different policy options need to be taken into consideration. A first approach is reducing consumption in general (de-growth-ideology), which may cause problems due to the existing paradigm of growth. The other approach, which is technology-optimistic, seeks for the technological fix to sustainability problems. While the first approach is questioning life styles, ways of consumption and growth-oriented economies, the second is focusing on technological changes not questioning the current trends in development of the global economy. However, both approaches are depending on innovations and transitions though on different levels, i.e. (i) the process and product (micro-) level, (ii) the strategic management (meso-) level and (iii) the systems-level (macro-level).

Scientific Board,
Prof. Joachim Ahrens (PFH, Göttingen, Germany)
Dr. Eckhard Burkatzki (IHI, Zittau, Germany)
Prof. Adnan Deðirmencioðlu (Ege University, Izmir, Turkey)
Prof. Bernd Delakowitz (Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz, Germany)
Prof. Duncan C. McDougall (Plymouth State University, USA)
Prof. Herman Hoen (RUG, Groningen, The Netherlands)
Dr. Jarl Kampen (Wageningen University, The Netherlands)
Prof. Fehmi Karasioðlu (Selçuk University, Turkey)
Prof. Mariusz Kistowski (Gdańsk University, Poland)
Dr. Karol Kociszewski (Wrocław University of Economics, Poland)
Prof. Walter Leal Filho (HAWH, Hamburg, Germany)
Prof. Albert Lohr (IHI / TU Dresden, Zittau, Germany)
Prof. Krzysztof Malik (Opole University of Technology, Poland)
Prof. Joost Platje (Opole University, Poland)
Prof. Leszek Preisner (AGH University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland)
Prof. Janusz Słodczyk (Opole University, Poland)
Prof. Ralph Wrobel (West Saxon University of Applied Science, Germany)

The organisation committee,
Agnieszka Dembicka (UO, Opole)
Dr. Bartosz Fortuński (UO, Opole)
Mateusz Musiał (Conference secretary, UO, Opole)
Dr. Monika Paradowska (UO, Opole)
Prof. Joost Platje (UO, Opole)
Dr. Robert Poskart (UO, Opole)
Prof. Janusz Słodczyk (UO, Opole)
DI Markus Will (Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz)
Eng. Sebastian Marcinkowski (UO, Opole)
oikos Opole, Student Scientific Circle on SD (UO, Opole)